Stichting Het 20ste-eeuwse Lied
    Nederlandse versie
You are on the Stichting Het 20ste-eeuwse Lied page
CD Projects
Press and Photos
Contact Reinild Mees
  The 20th Century Song Foundation (Stichting Het 20ste-eeuwse Lied), settled in Amsterdam (The Netherlands), aims at fanning the flames of enthusiasm for the extensive repertory of songs written during the last century. Many of these, especially those composed between the World Wars, have fallen into oblivion. The Foundation tries systematically to champion the 'forgotten' masterpieces by uniting musicians, scholars, concert halls, CD-producers and the public.
Composers such as Sir Edward Elgar, Franz Schreker, Ottorino Respighi and Karol Szymanowski have been spotlighted, not only in the concert hall but also by embarking upon the recording of their Complete Songs—a CD series issued by Channel Classics Records.

This series is of great value since most of the repertoire has never been previously recorded.

All of the CD's are available via

In 2004 the Szymanowski CD's won the FRYDERYK AWARD, the most prestigious music award in Poland for the best recording of Polish music.

In order to appeal to a larger audience, a new form of recital has been developed: SPOTLIGHTS concerts.
The 20th Century Song Foundation presents a series of various concert programmes which strike a different note, the music being enhanced by light effects, declamation, direction, the exposition of photographs and the projection of slides. Gone is the old-fashioned recital during which the soprano or baritone was singing like a frozen statue while the public were ruining their eyesight trying to read, in the dim light, the lyrics in their booklets.

The programmes for the 2011-2012 SPOTLIGHTS season are available on the SPOTLIGHTS concerts page.


Nederlandse versie

  20th Century Song Foundation (Stichting Het 20ste-eeuwse Lied)
Catharina van Rennesstraat 24
1077 KX Amsterdam
The Netherlands
tel. +31 20 675 60 40

Artistic Director Reinild Mees   -   tel. +31 (0)6 5118 7526
Business Manager Yasmin Hilberdink   -   tel. +31 (0)64 181 5951
PR Tia Schutrups   -   tel. +31 (0)20 622 6483
Chairman Maarten Drop
Treasurer Jord Ruijgh
Secretary Leo Samama